The Ohio State University at Newark

Students Recognized for Academic Achievement at Ohio State Newark

April 30, 2019

As the academic year comes to an end, The Ohio University at Newark’s top undergraduate students were recognized at the annual Salute to Undergraduate Achievement dinner on Monday, April 22, 2019. The Dean’s Award, John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award, Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award and several awards based on academic disciplines were presented.

2019 Dean’s Award
Students with a GPA of 3.8 or higher are invited to apply for the Dean’s Award. In addition to academic excellence, recipients of the Dean’s Award demonstrate consistent engagement and leadership in the academic and cultural life of the campus. This year’s recipients are:
• Michelle Auflick of Heath
• Arnaldo Gonzales Calero of Westerville
• Kalene Close of Pataskala
• Josiah Krumm of Granville
• Andrew Luckett of Newark
• Grant Nebbergall of Lancaster
• Dwayne Raines of Newark
• Ciana Roush of Canal Winchester
• Abigail Sedziol of Johnstown
• Amila Sherzai of Hilliard
• Noah Voorhies of Westerville
• Myla Yang of Newark
• Fatmah Zafar of Columbus
• Richard Zhelezny of Westerville

The Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award
Cailyn Sutliff of Granville received the Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award, presented each year to an outstanding senior at Ohio State who is completing his or her undergraduate degree requirements on the Newark campus and has a distinguished record of both academic achievement and leadership. This award is the highest academic honor given to a graduating student at Ohio State Newark.

The John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award
Emily Blegvad of Newark is the recipient of the John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award, which is given annually by the regional campus faculty council to an outstanding senior student who initially enrolled on a regional campus of Ohio State. John T. Mount served the university in many roles for more than 40 years including his tenure as vice president for regional campuses from 1970 to 1983. This award recognizes his abiding interest in regional campus students, his effective work on their behalf and his persistent emphasis on academic excellence.

Academic Area Awards
Several discipline-specific awards were also presented at the Salute to Undergraduate Achievement Dinner. The awards and recipients are:
• Harding Ganz Prize (history): Nikala Curliss of Newark
• English Studies Community Citizenship Award: Lauren Toney of Newark
• English Studies Essay Award: Shelby Royal of Blacklick and Conner Moore of Duncan Falls
• Ruth Scott-Sara Staats Outstanding Psychology Student Award: Celeste Hinerman of Newark
• Dr. Paul E. Panek Memorial Scholarship (psychology): Ross Boley of New Albany
• Lillabelle Holt Undergraduate Education Award: Jessie Davis of Columbus
• Classics Latin Junior Prize: Dwayne Raines of Newark
• Classics Latin Senior Prize: Jacob Scott of Pickerington
• Classics Award: Chloe Smith of Gahanna

Photo caption:left to right: English Studies Essay Award winner Shelby Royal of Blacklick, English Studies Community Citizenship Award winner Lauren Toney of Newark, English Studies Essay Award winner Conner Moore of Duncan Falls

The Ohio State University at Newark offers an academic environment that’s inclusive of diversity, challenging but supportive with world-renowned professors and access to Ohio State’s more than 200 majors. It’s where learning comes to life. Research, study abroad and service learning opportunities prepare students for their careers in ways they never expected.