The Ohio State University at Newark

Students Recognized for Academic Achievement at Ohio State Newark

May 6, 2020

As the academic year comes to an end, The Ohio University at Newark recognizes our top undergraduate students. The Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award and the John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award are our highest academic awards, given to graduating seniors. The Dean’s Award recognizes academically high-achieving students. Departmental awards recognize high achievement within academic disciplines.

The Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award

Josiah Krumm of Granville received the Robert A. Barnes Academic Excellence Award, presented each year to an outstanding senior at Ohio State who is completing his or her undergraduate degree requirements on the Newark campus and has a distinguished record of academic achievement, campus engagement and leadership. The award is named after Robert A. Barnes, the first full-time director of Ohio State Newark. While also serving as COTC’s first president, Barnes was instrumental in the nascent campus’s early growth. He oversaw the design and construction of the campus’s first building, Founders Hall, and the establishment of a permanent library. As dual director, he fostered a spirit of mutual respect between the two co-located institutions that continues to thrive today.

The John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award

Dean Watkins of Marysville is the recipient of the Ohio State Newark John T. Mount Academic Excellence Award, which is given annually to an outstanding senior, concluding their coursework in Columbus, who began their studies at the Newark campus. The recipient is chosen for a distinguished record of academic achievement, campus engagement and leadership. John T. Mount served the university in many roles for more than 40 years, including his tenure as vice president for regional campuses from 1970 to 1983. This award recognizes Mount’s abiding interest in regional campus students, his effective work on their behalf and his persistent emphasis on academic excellence.

2020 Dean’s Award

Students with a GPA of 3.8 or higher are invited to apply for the Dean’s Award. In addition to academic excellence, recipients of the Dean’s Award demonstrate consistent engagement and leadership in the academic and cultural life of the campus.

This year’s recipients are:
• Nazreth Abraha of Columbus
• Haley Bond of Somerset
• Kimberly Bridgham of Etna
• Jacob Charlton of Newark
• Kalene Close of Pataskala
• Mikenna Dew of Delaware
• Amy Doan of Columbus
• Brittney Dodrill of Buckeye Lake
• Keri Felumlee of Heath
• Ethan Garrett of Zanesville
• Selena Ghaben of Dayton
• Ashley Grenke of Galena
• Emma Harvey of New Lexington
• Kristen Houser of Waterford
• Ajeeta Jandkami of Pataskala
• Maddie Jeter of Newark
• Swea Kumlien of Columbus
• Logan Kizer of Sunbury
• Kalina Kozlowski of Granville
• Tellie Lee of Reynoldsburg
• Elise Mabry of Reynoldsburg
• Tatum Minton of Utica
• Kaylee Mohler of Zanesville
• Ashley Ochieng of Canal Winchester
• Trina Orr of Frazeysburg
• Srushti Patel of Columbus
• Mauretta Patitsas of Columbus
• Dwayne Raines of Newark
• Shannon Reeves of Columbus
• Rachael Scarmack of Pataskala
• Abigail Sedziol of Johnstown
• Abigail Sexton of Pataskala
• Katherine Stuart of Granville
• Allison Thornberry of Pickerington
• Breandan Wheeler of Zanesville
• Blake Whitman of Perrysburg
• Monica Williams of Galena
• Julia Williamson of Mount Vernon
• James Wright of West Chester
• Myla Yang of Newark

Academic Area Awards

Several discipline-specific awards are also presented.

The awards and recipients are:
• A. Harding Ganz Prize (history): Aaron Jones of Newark and Lauren Marks-Strauss of Newark
• Richard Shiels Prize (history): Peter Giuliani of Westerville
• Ruth Scott-Sara Staats Outstanding Psychology Student Award: Josiah Krumm of Granville
• Dr. Paul E. Panek Memorial Scholarship (psychology): Abigail Sedziol of Johnstown
• Lillabelle Holt Undergraduate Education Award: Maddie Jeter of Newark and Lexine Prescott of New Albany
• Classics Latin Junior Prize: Allison Quickle of Amherst
• Classics Latin Senior Prize: Nicole Friel of Thornville

The Ohio State University at Newark offers an academic environment that’s inclusive of diversity, challenging but supportive with world-renowned professors and access to Ohio State’s more than 200 majors. It’s where learning comes to life. Research, study abroad and service learning opportunities prepare students for their careers in ways they never expected.